I lost 1 pound this week, which I consider a blessing because everything conspired against me this week. I managed only 18 APs (I planned for 35) because I strained a muscle in my right back and gluteus. I haven't been doing much of anything since then. It's difficult to stand long enough to cook anything that isn't instant. We've had Subway and Pizza Hut because I couldn't stand but I could drive.
When I input my weight I got a great quote by Aristotle from the Weight Tracker: "We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit." It reminded me not to worry so much about that number on the scale. The weight will come off as long as I'm habitually doing the things that make the Weight Watchers plan work. I'm a perfectionist about some things to the extreme. When I have a gain or skip a workout or eat something that isn't too great, I usually have a hard time just letting it go with "I'll do better next time". This perfectionist streak has been the downfall of many of my goals, not just the weight-loss ones. It applies academically, to parenting...I just had a lightbulb moment courtesy of Weight Watchers and Aristotle.
If you've never heard a 2-year old say "Angelina Ballerina", it's something to behold. Claudia's verbal skills are starting to scare me...we're starting to have conversations Nadine and I didn't until recently. *cue twilight zone music* She's a quirky little bundle of giggles who has no fear of making a mistake.
On one of those trips to Subway, we were in line behind a disabled woman in a power wheelchair. Claudia walked right up to her and started playing peep eye and chatting her up. Nadine let Claudia test the waters (as always) and then jumped in, too. I could tell the woman was eating up the attention. As she was paying for her food, she told me that it was rare for children to play with her in that manner without regard for her wheelchair and that she enjoyed the attention from the girls. She then complimented ME for their behavior, but it really has nothing to do with anything I've done as a parent. The girls had never seen someone in a wheelchair like hers or disabled to the point that this lady was. I never had the opportunity for a teachable moment such as that, and yet my girls passed with flying colors. It makes me even more proud as a mother that they did this on their own without any guidance, that it's just a part of who they are to take people at face value...
Isn't it awesome when that happens? Our kids can give us such fits, but we're always so grateful that they know how to act when they're in public, therefore keeping up the ruse that we are good parents! haha...Just kidding.
ReplyDeleteGood for you, Mom. YES! You deserve kudos, so bask in them...you'll need it in reserves for the day that they ARE NOT acting so nice in public! ;)
It definitely impressed me that the girls responded so well. I was worried that they would try to climb up or something, so in a way I was worse than they were.
ReplyDeleteWhen I was growing up, we got away with murder at home as long as we could make my mom laugh, but we knew that if we embarrassed her in public with our behavior that we were really in for it. She could move her index finger from side to side like shaking your head no and we'd all stop what we were doing and morph into angels. A quick whistle and we'd jump in line behind her like little ducklings. The funny thing is that we all STILL respond to those cues!